Decriminalize: Issue a fine for possessing a small amount of marijuana
Under current Virginia law, the possession of one-half ounce of cannabis or less is classified as a criminal misdemeanor, punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine.
Senate Majority Leader Tommy Norment issued a request to “undertake a study examining a future change to the Code of Virginia regarding criminal penalties related to the possession of small amounts of marijuana.” The commission’s findings will be presented on October 5.
The Crime Commission wants to hear from YOU by August 25th! It only takes a couple minutes and a couple clicks to help us in this monumental opportunity for our Commonwealth. PLEASE #TakeAction!